Coverart for item
The Resource Country of red azaleas : a novel, Domnica Radulescu

Country of red azaleas : a novel, Domnica Radulescu

Label
Country of red azaleas : a novel
Title
Country of red azaleas
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Domnica Radulescu
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"A riveting novel about two women--one Serbian, one Bosnian--whose friendship spans decades and continents, war and peace, love and estrangement, in the vein of Elena Ferrante and Julia Alvarez. Closer than sisters, Lara and Marija share everything, from stolen fruit and Hollywood movies as girls to ideologies and even lovers as young women. But when the Bosnian War pits their homelands against each other in a bloodbath, Lara and Marija are forced to separate: romantic Lara heads to America with her Hollywood-handsome husband, and fierce Marija goes to her native Sarajevo to combat the war through journalism. In America, Lara seeks fulfillment through work and family, but when news from Marija ceases, the uncertainty torments Lara, driving her on a quest to find her friend. As Lara travels through war-torn Serbia, following clues that may yet lead to the flesh-and-blood Marija, she must also wrestle with truths about her own identity. Told in lush, vivid prose, COUNTRY OF RED AZALEAS is a poignant testament to both the power of friendship and our ability to find meaning and beauty in the face of devastation."--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1961-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Radulescu, Domnica
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3618.A358
LC item number
C68 2016
Literary form
novels
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Female friendship
  • Self-realization in women
  • Sarajevo (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
Label
Country of red azaleas : a novel, Domnica Radulescu
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn917344142
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
308 pages
Isbn
9781455590421
Lccn
2015044687
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • BK0017523206
  • (OCoLC)917344142
Label
Country of red azaleas : a novel, Domnica Radulescu
Publication
Copyright
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn917344142
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
308 pages
Isbn
9781455590421
Lccn
2015044687
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • BK0017523206
  • (OCoLC)917344142

Library Locations

    • Capitol View LibraryBorrow it
      5001 Central Ave. SE, Washington, DC, 20019, US
      38.8889423 -76.9295681
    • Cleveland Park LibraryBorrow it
      3310 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington, DC, 20008, US
      38.9338203 -77.05791820000002
    • Georgetown LibraryBorrow it
      3260 R St. NW, Washington, DC, 20007, US
      38.9134043 -77.0660321
    • Tenley-Friendship LibraryBorrow it
      4450 Wisconsin Ave. NW, Washington, DC, 20016, US
      38.9476208 -77.0799279
    • Woodridge LibraryBorrow it
      1790 Douglas St. NE, Washington, DC, 20018, US
      38.9234096 -76.9791283
Processing Feedback ...