The Resource Empire City

Empire City

Label
Empire City
Title
Empire City
Creator
Subject
Summary
"Empire City is a dark, nimble book that pulls no punches. While the novel tracks an alternate historical reality, time and again I found myself taken aback at just how prescient and applicable its insight is to our very real present. Gallagher once again establishes himself as a preeminent voice in American writing." —Sara Novic, award-winning author of Girl at War "A brilliant and daring novel. Gallagher's prose is sharp, energetic and witty, his characters are fiercely alive, and the cracked vision of America he creates is a monstrous thing of beauty." —Phil Klay, award-winning author of Redeployment The author of the "urgent and deeply moving" (The New York Times) Youngblood returns with this bold and provocative novel following a group of super-powered soldiers and civilians as they navigate an imperial America on the precipice of a major upheaval—for fans of The Fortress of Solitude and The Plot Against America. Thirty years after its great triumph in Vietnam, the United States has again become mired in an endless foreign war overseas. Stories of super soldiers known as the Volunteers tuck in little American boys and girls every night. Yet domestic politics are aflame. Violent protests erupt throughout the nation; an ex-military watchdog group clashes with police while radical terrorists threaten to expose government experiments within the veteran rehabilitation colonies. Halfway between war and peace, the Volunteers find themselves waiting for orders in the vast American city-state, Empire City. There they encounter a small group of civilians who know the truth about their powers, including Sebastian Rios, a young bureaucrat wrestling with survivor guilt, and Mia Tucker, a wounded army pilot-turned-Wall Street banker. Meanwhile, Jean-Jacques Saint-Preux, a Haitian-American Volunteer from the International Legion, decides he'll do whatever it takes to return to the front lines. Through it all, a controversial retired general emerges as a frontrunner in the presidential campaign, promising to save the country from itself. Her election would mean unprecedented military control over the country, with promises of security and stability—but at what cost? Featuring Gallagher's "vital" (The Washington Post), "evocative" (The Wall Street Journal) prose, Empire City is a rousing vision of an alternate—yet all too familiar—America on the brink
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Gallagher, Matt
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Literature
  • Fiction
Label
Empire City
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:7ecc3934-5702-4631-b051-d999b8eb8266
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9781501177811
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
Empire City
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:7ecc3934-5702-4631-b051-d999b8eb8266
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9781501177811
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Library Locations

  • Anacostia LibraryBorrow it
    1800 Good Hope Road SE, Washington, DC, 20020, US
    38.8659805 -76.9785383
  • Bellevue (William O. Lockridge) LibraryBorrow it
    115 Atlantic St. SW, Washington, DC, 20032, US
    38.8312359 -77.00939129999999
  • Benning (Dorothy I. Height) LibraryBorrow it
    3935 Benning Rd. NE, Washington, DC, 20019, US
    38.8941177 -76.9478286
  • Capitol View LibraryBorrow it
    5001 Central Ave. SE, Washington, DC, 20019, US
    38.8889423 -76.9295681
  • Chevy Chase LibraryBorrow it
    5625 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington, DC, 20015, US
    38.9651433 -77.07510599999999
  • Cleveland Park LibraryBorrow it
    3310 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington, DC, 20008, US
    38.9338203 -77.05791820000002
  • Deanwood LibraryBorrow it
    1350 49th St. NE, Washington, DC, 20019, US
    38.9082997 -76.9324515
  • Francis A. Gregory LibraryBorrow it
    3660 Alabama Ave. SE, Washington, DC, 20020, US
    38.8648665 -76.9542163
  • Georgetown LibraryBorrow it
    3260 R St. NW, Washington, DC, 20007, US
    38.9134043 -77.0660321
  • Lamond-Riggs LibraryBorrow it
    5401 South Dakota Ave. NE, Washington, DC, 20011, US
    38.9551231 -76.9995732
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial LibraryBorrow it
    901 G Street NW, Washington, DC, 20001, US
    38.8986949 -77.0247823
  • Mt. Pleasant LibraryBorrow it
    3160 16th St. NW, Washington, DC, 20010, US
    38.9304774 -77.0372288
  • Northeast LibraryBorrow it
    330 7th St. NE, Washington, DC, 20002, US
    38.894372 -76.99644599999999
  • Northwest One LibraryBorrow it
    155 L St. NW, Washington, DC, 20001, US
    38.9040371 -77.01340619999999
  • Palisades LibraryBorrow it
    4901 V St. NW, Washington, DC, 20007, US
    38.9183989 -77.0971728
  • Parklands-Turner LibraryBorrow it
    1547 Alabama Ave. SE, Washington, DC, 20032, US
    38.8461739 -76.9811453
  • Petworth LibraryBorrow it
    4200 Kansas Ave. NW, Washington, DC, 20011, US
    38.9421922 -77.02614299999999
  • Rosedale LibraryBorrow it
    1701 Gales St. NE, Washington, DC, 20002, US
    38.8980947 -76.9796564
  • Shaw (Watha T. Daniel) LibraryBorrow it
    1630 7th St. NW, Washington, DC, 20001, US
    38.9123733 -77.022493
  • Shepherd Park (Juanita E. Thornton) LibraryBorrow it
    7420 Georgia Ave. NW, Washington, DC, 20012, US
    38.9803141 -77.026951
  • Southeast LibraryBorrow it
    403 7th St. SE, Washington, DC, 20003, US
    38.8840495 -76.9965051
  • Southwest LibraryBorrow it
    900 Wesley Place SW, Washington, DC, 20024, US
    38.8786807 -77.0158191
  • Takoma Park LibraryBorrow it
    416 Cedar St. NW, Washington, DC, 20012, US
    38.9744936 -77.0201519
  • Tenley-Friendship LibraryBorrow it
    4450 Wisconsin Ave. NW, Washington, DC, 20016, US
    38.9476208 -77.0799279
  • West End LibraryBorrow it
    2522 Virginia Ave. NW, Washington, DC, 20037, US
    38.8992872 -77.05423379999999
  • Woodridge LibraryBorrow it
    1790 Douglas St. NE, Washington, DC, 20018, US
    38.9234096 -76.9791283
Processing Feedback ...