The Resource Krazy : George Herriman, a life in black and white, Michael Tisserand

Krazy : George Herriman, a life in black and white, Michael Tisserand

Label
Krazy : George Herriman, a life in black and white
Title
Krazy
Title remainder
George Herriman, a life in black and white
Statement of responsibility
Michael Tisserand
Title variation
George Herriman, a life in black and white
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • In the tradition of Schulz and Peanuts, an epic and revelatory biography of Krazy Kat creator George Herriman that explores the turbulent time and place from which he emerged and the deep secret he explored through his art
  • "The creator of the greatest comic strip in history finally gets his due--in an eye-opening biography that lays bare the truth about his art, his heritage, and his life on America's color line. A native of nineteenth-century New Orleans, George Herriman came of age as an illustrator, journalist, and cartoonist in the boomtown of Los Angeles and the wild metropolis of New York. Appearing in the biggest newspapers of the early twentieth century--including those owned by William Randolph Hearst--Herriman's Krazy Kat cartoons quickly propelled him to fame. Although fitfully popular with readers of the period, his work has been widely credited with elevating cartoons from daily amusements to anarchic art. Herriman used his work to explore the human condition, creating a modernist fantasia that was inspired by the landscapes he discovered in his travels--from chaotic urban life to the Beckett-like desert vistas of the Southwest. Yet underlying his own life--and often emerging from the contours of his very public art--was a very private secret: known as 'the Greek' for his swarthy complexion and curly hair, Herriman was actually African American, born to a prominent Creole family that hid its racial identity in the dangerous days of Reconstruction."--Publisher description
Biography type
individual biography
Cataloging source
YDXCP
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1963-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Tisserand, Michael
Dewey number
  • 741.5/6973
  • 741.5/609
  • B
Illustrations
  • illustrations
  • portraits
  • plates
Index
index present
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Herriman, George
  • Herriman, George
  • Cartoonists
  • African American cartoonists
  • Krazy Kat (Fictitious character)
  • African American cartoonists
  • Cartoonists
  • Krazy Kat (Fictitious character)
  • United States
  • Cartoonists
Label
Krazy : George Herriman, a life in black and white, Michael Tisserand
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 447-517) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Part I : Watta woil. Ancestors ; Losing boundaries ; As the office boy saw it -- Part II : The Greek. Origin of a new species ; Impussanations ; Bubblespiker ; Tad ; Hobo Corner ; Kid Herriman ; Proones, Mooch, and Gooseberry Sprig ; Transformation glasses -- Part III : Coconino. Revolutionaries and Dingbats ; Kat descending a staircase ; The Kat and the Tramp ; A genius of the comic page ; Fantastic little monster ; Mist ; The lot of fun -- Part IV : Maravilla. Inferiority complexion ; Outpost ; Tiger tea ; Pool of purple shadow ; A zephyr from the west
Control code
ocn939993830
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
viii, 545 pages, 16 unnumbered pages of plates
Isbn
9780061732997
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations, portraits
Label
Krazy : George Herriman, a life in black and white, Michael Tisserand
Publication
Copyright
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 447-517) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Part I : Watta woil. Ancestors ; Losing boundaries ; As the office boy saw it -- Part II : The Greek. Origin of a new species ; Impussanations ; Bubblespiker ; Tad ; Hobo Corner ; Kid Herriman ; Proones, Mooch, and Gooseberry Sprig ; Transformation glasses -- Part III : Coconino. Revolutionaries and Dingbats ; Kat descending a staircase ; The Kat and the Tramp ; A genius of the comic page ; Fantastic little monster ; Mist ; The lot of fun -- Part IV : Maravilla. Inferiority complexion ; Outpost ; Tiger tea ; Pool of purple shadow ; A zephyr from the west
Control code
ocn939993830
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
viii, 545 pages, 16 unnumbered pages of plates
Isbn
9780061732997
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations, portraits

Library Locations

    • Benning (Dorothy I. Height) LibraryBorrow it
      3935 Benning Rd. NE, Washington, DC, 20019, US
      38.8941177 -76.9478286
    • Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial LibraryBorrow it
      901 G Street NW, Washington, DC, 20001, US
      38.8986949 -77.0247823
    • Petworth LibraryBorrow it
      4200 Kansas Ave. NW, Washington, DC, 20011, US
      38.9421922 -77.02614299999999
    • Tenley-Friendship LibraryBorrow it
      4450 Wisconsin Ave. NW, Washington, DC, 20016, US
      38.9476208 -77.0799279
    • Woodridge LibraryBorrow it
      1790 Douglas St. NE, Washington, DC, 20018, US
      38.9234096 -76.9791283
    • Shaw (Watha T. Daniel) LibraryBorrow it
      1630 7th St. NW, Washington, DC, 20001, US
      38.9123733 -77.022493
Processing Feedback ...