Coverart for item
The Resource Short Century : A Novel, By David Burr Gerrard

Short Century : A Novel, By David Burr Gerrard

Label
Short Century : A Novel
Title
Short Century
Title remainder
A Novel
Statement of responsibility
By David Burr Gerrard
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
When a mysterious blogger reveals renowned pro-war journalist Arthur Hunt's long-ago incestuous affair with his smart but impressionable younger sister, Emily, Arthur writes a memoir in defense of his life, coming to terms with his shattered sense of self, his skewed political ideals, and the crumbling American empire he has been struggling to uphold. An angry but eloquent narrator in the tradition of Philip Roth and Thomas Bernhard, Arthur recounts his relationship with Emily, weaving in his claustrophobic WASP childhood, his '60s student radical days at Yale, and his vociferous support for America's war in Iraq and its continuing drone campaign. Capturing the tumult of recent American history, Short Century is filled with supporting characters as memorable as Arthur-- including Miranda, his mercurial college girlfriend; Jersey Rothstein, the charismatic free-love guru for whom Miranda leaves Arthur; their son Jason, who signs up to serve in Iraq, where he is killed; their daughter Sydney, who follows Arthur into pro-war punditry; and their daughter Daisy, who chooses to wear a burqa. With a broad historical scope but an intimate personal focus, this is a novel about America, family, and how our desire for freedom is often entangles with much darker impulses
Cataloging source
BTCTA
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Gerrard, David Burr
Illustrations
portraits
Index
no index present
Literary form
novels
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Incest
  • Iraq War, 2003-2011
Label
Short Century : A Novel, By David Burr Gerrard
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
"A Barnacle Book"
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn852223624
Isbn
9781940207070
Isbn Type
(paperback)
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Label
Short Century : A Novel, By David Burr Gerrard
Publication
Copyright
Note
"A Barnacle Book"
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn852223624
Isbn
9781940207070
Isbn Type
(paperback)
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n

Library Locations

    • Mt. Pleasant LibraryBorrow it
      3160 16th St. NW, Washington, DC, 20010, US
      38.9304774 -77.0372288
Processing Feedback ...