The Resource Task Force Baum, James D. Shipman

Task Force Baum, James D. Shipman

Label
Task Force Baum
Title
Task Force Baum
Statement of responsibility
James D. Shipman
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"In the tradition of Saving Private Ryan and Bridge Over the River Kwai, bestselling author James D. Shipman delivers a powerful, action-packed novel that illustrates the long-buried secrets and unending costs of war -- based on the true story of General Patton's clandestine unauthorized raid on a World War II POW camp. March, 1945. Allied forces are battle-worn but wearily optimistic. Russia's Red Army is advancing hard on Germany from the east, bolstering Allied troops moving in from the west and north. Soon, surely, Axis forces must accept defeat. Yet for Captain Jim Curtis, each day is a reminder of how unpredictable and uncertain warfare can be. Captured during the Battle of the Bulge after the Germans launched a devastating surprise attack, Curtis is imprisoned at a POW camp in Hammelburg, Bavaria. Conditions are grim. Inmates and guards alike are freezing and starving, with rations dwindling day by day. But whispers say General Patton's troops are on the way, and the camp may soon be liberated. Indeed, fifty miles away, a task force of three hundred men is preparing to cross into Germany. With camps up and down the line, what makes Hammelburg so special they don't know, but orders are orders. Yet their hopes of evading the enemy quickly evaporate. Wracked by poor judgment, insufficient arms, and bad luck, the raid unravels with shattering losses. The liberation inmates hoped for becomes a struggle for survival marked by a stark choice: stay, or risk escaping into danger -- while leaving some behind. For Curtis, the decision is an even more personal test of loyalty, friendship, and the values for which one will die or kill. It will be another twenty years before the unsanctioned mission's secret motivation becomes public knowledge, creating a controversy that will forever color Patton's legacy and linger on in the lives of those who made it home at last -- and the loved ones of those who did not." --
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
YDX
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Shipman, James D
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • World War, 1939-1945
  • World War, 1939-1945
  • Prisoners of war
  • World War (1939-1945)
  • Prisoners of war
  • Germany
Label
Task Force Baum, James D. Shipman
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1089284507
Dimensions
22 cm
Extent
327 pages
Isbn
9781496723864
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Label
Task Force Baum, James D. Shipman
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1089284507
Dimensions
22 cm
Extent
327 pages
Isbn
9781496723864
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n

Library Locations

    • Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial LibraryBorrow it
      901 G Street NW, Washington, DC, 20001, US
      38.8986949 -77.0247823
    • Northeast LibraryBorrow it
      330 7th St. NE, Washington, DC, 20002, US
      38.894372 -76.99644599999999
    • Tenley-Friendship LibraryBorrow it
      4450 Wisconsin Ave. NW, Washington, DC, 20016, US
      38.9476208 -77.0799279
    • Woodridge LibraryBorrow it
      1790 Douglas St. NE, Washington, DC, 20018, US
      38.9234096 -76.9791283
Processing Feedback ...