The Resource The Anatomist's Apprentice

The Anatomist's Apprentice

Label
The Anatomist's Apprentice
Title
The Anatomist's Apprentice
Creator
Subject
Summary
In this eighteenth-century historical mystery series opener, an English lady looks to an American anatomist's forensic skills to clear her husband's name. The death of Sir Edward Crick has unleashed a torrent of gossip through the seedy taverns and elegant ballrooms of Oxfordshire. Few mourn the dissolute young man—except his sister, the beautiful Lady Lydia Farrell. When her husband comes under suspicion of murder, she seeks expert help from Dr. Thomas Silkstone, a young anatomist from Philadelphia. Thomas arrived in England to study under its foremost surgeon, where his unconventional methods only add to his outsider status. Against his better judgment he agrees to examine Sir Edward's corpse. But it is not only the dead, but also the living, to whom he must apply the keen blade of his intellect. And the deeper the doctor's investigations go, the greater the risk that he will be consigned to the ranks of the corpses he studies . . .Praise for The Anatomist's Apprentice "Smart misdirection and time-period appropriate medical details make for a promising start to a new series. A strong choice for readers of Ariana Franklin and Caleb Carr." —Library Journal "Densely plotted . . . We await—indeed, demand—the sequel." —The New York Times Book Review "An absorbing debut . . . Harris has more than a few tricks up her sleeve and even veteran armchair puzzle solvers are likely to be surprised." —Publishers Weekly
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Harris, Tessa
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Historical Fiction
  • Mystery
  • Fiction
Label
The Anatomist's Apprentice
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:465492df-ab50-454d-9565-4ac4e42e7f4c
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780758278029
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
The Anatomist's Apprentice
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:465492df-ab50-454d-9565-4ac4e42e7f4c
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780758278029
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Library Locations

  • Anacostia LibraryBorrow it
    1800 Good Hope Road SE, Washington, DC, 20020, US
    38.8659805 -76.9785383
  • Bellevue (William O. Lockridge) LibraryBorrow it
    115 Atlantic St. SW, Washington, DC, 20032, US
    38.8312359 -77.00939129999999
  • Benning (Dorothy I. Height) LibraryBorrow it
    3935 Benning Rd. NE, Washington, DC, 20019, US
    38.8941177 -76.9478286
  • Capitol View LibraryBorrow it
    5001 Central Ave. SE, Washington, DC, 20019, US
    38.8889423 -76.9295681
  • Chevy Chase LibraryBorrow it
    5625 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington, DC, 20015, US
    38.9651433 -77.07510599999999
  • Cleveland Park LibraryBorrow it
    3310 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington, DC, 20008, US
    38.9338203 -77.05791820000002
  • Deanwood LibraryBorrow it
    1350 49th St. NE, Washington, DC, 20019, US
    38.9082997 -76.9324515
  • Francis A. Gregory LibraryBorrow it
    3660 Alabama Ave. SE, Washington, DC, 20020, US
    38.8648665 -76.9542163
  • Georgetown LibraryBorrow it
    3260 R St. NW, Washington, DC, 20007, US
    38.9134043 -77.0660321
  • Lamond-Riggs LibraryBorrow it
    5401 South Dakota Ave. NE, Washington, DC, 20011, US
    38.9551231 -76.9995732
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial LibraryBorrow it
    901 G Street NW, Washington, DC, 20001, US
    38.8986949 -77.0247823
  • Mt. Pleasant LibraryBorrow it
    3160 16th St. NW, Washington, DC, 20010, US
    38.9304774 -77.0372288
  • Northeast LibraryBorrow it
    330 7th St. NE, Washington, DC, 20002, US
    38.894372 -76.99644599999999
  • Northwest One LibraryBorrow it
    155 L St. NW, Washington, DC, 20001, US
    38.9040371 -77.01340619999999
  • Palisades LibraryBorrow it
    4901 V St. NW, Washington, DC, 20007, US
    38.9183989 -77.0971728
  • Parklands-Turner LibraryBorrow it
    1547 Alabama Ave. SE, Washington, DC, 20032, US
    38.8461739 -76.9811453
  • Petworth LibraryBorrow it
    4200 Kansas Ave. NW, Washington, DC, 20011, US
    38.9421922 -77.02614299999999
  • Rosedale LibraryBorrow it
    1701 Gales St. NE, Washington, DC, 20002, US
    38.8980947 -76.9796564
  • Shaw (Watha T. Daniel) LibraryBorrow it
    1630 7th St. NW, Washington, DC, 20001, US
    38.9123733 -77.022493
  • Shepherd Park (Juanita E. Thornton) LibraryBorrow it
    7420 Georgia Ave. NW, Washington, DC, 20012, US
    38.9803141 -77.026951
  • Southeast LibraryBorrow it
    403 7th St. SE, Washington, DC, 20003, US
    38.8840495 -76.9965051
  • Southwest LibraryBorrow it
    900 Wesley Place SW, Washington, DC, 20024, US
    38.8786807 -77.0158191
  • Takoma Park LibraryBorrow it
    416 Cedar St. NW, Washington, DC, 20012, US
    38.9744936 -77.0201519
  • Tenley-Friendship LibraryBorrow it
    4450 Wisconsin Ave. NW, Washington, DC, 20016, US
    38.9476208 -77.0799279
  • West End LibraryBorrow it
    2522 Virginia Ave. NW, Washington, DC, 20037, US
    38.8992872 -77.05423379999999
  • Woodridge LibraryBorrow it
    1790 Douglas St. NE, Washington, DC, 20018, US
    38.9234096 -76.9791283
Processing Feedback ...