The Resource The boat people, Sharon Bala

The boat people, Sharon Bala

Label
The boat people
Title
The boat people
Statement of responsibility
Sharon Bala
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "For readers of Khaled Hosseini and Chris Cleave, The Boat People is an extraordinary novel about a group of refugees who survive a perilous ocean voyage only to face the threat of deportation amid accusations of terrorism When a rusty cargo ship carrying Mahindan and five hundred fellow refugees from Sri Lanka's bloody civil war reaches Vancouver's shores, the young father thinks he and his six-year-old son can finally start a new life. Instead, the group is thrown into a detention processing center, with government officials and news headlines speculating that among the "boat people" are members of a separatist militant organization responsible for countless suicide attacks--and that these terrorists now pose a threat to Canada's national security. As the refugees become subject to heavy interrogation, Mahindan begins to fear that a desperate act taken in Sri Lanka to fund their escape may now jeopardize his and his son's chance for asylum. Told through the alternating perspectives of Mahindan; his lawyer, Priya, a second-generation Sri Lankan Canadian who reluctantly represents the refugees; and Grace, a third-generation Japanese Canadian adjudicator who must decide Mahindan's fate as evidence mounts against him, The Boat People is a spellbinding and timely novel that provokes a deeply compassionate lens through which to view the current refugee crisis"--
  • "A debut novel about a thirty-five-year-old Sri Lankan refugee who has survived the harrowing experiences of civil war, a prison camp, and a perilous ocean voyage to Canada -- but his journey has only begun, as he and his young son navigate the morass of the refugee system"--
  • When a rusty cargo ship carrying Mahindan and five hundred fellow refugees from Sri Lanka's bloody civil war reaches Vancouver's shores, the young father thinks he and his six-year-old son can finally start a new life. Instead, the group is thrown into a detention processing center, with government officials and news headlines speculating that among the "boat people" are members of a separatist militant organization responsible for countless suicide attacks-- and that these terrorists now pose a threat to Canada's national security. As the refugees become subject to heavy interrogation, Mahindan begins to fear that a desperate act taken in Sri Lanka to fund their escape may now jeopardize his and his son's chance for asylum
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Bala, Sharon
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
Literary form
novels
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Refugees
  • Fathers and sons
  • Sri Lankans
  • Detention of persons
  • Canada
  • Refugees
  • Fathers and sons
Label
The boat people, Sharon Bala
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn983346780
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
338 pages
Isbn
9780525432463
Lccn
2017020049
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Label
The boat people, Sharon Bala
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn983346780
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
338 pages
Isbn
9780525432463
Lccn
2017020049
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n

Library Locations

    • Benning (Dorothy I. Height) LibraryBorrow it
      3935 Benning Rd. NE, Washington, DC, 20019, US
      38.8941177 -76.9478286
    • Cleveland Park LibraryBorrow it
      3310 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington, DC, 20008, US
      38.9338203 -77.05791820000002
    • Mt. Pleasant LibraryBorrow it
      3160 16th St. NW, Washington, DC, 20010, US
      38.9304774 -77.0372288
    • Northeast LibraryBorrow it
      330 7th St. NE, Washington, DC, 20002, US
      38.894372 -76.99644599999999
    • Petworth LibraryBorrow it
      4200 Kansas Ave. NW, Washington, DC, 20011, US
      38.9421922 -77.02614299999999
    • Tenley-Friendship LibraryBorrow it
      4450 Wisconsin Ave. NW, Washington, DC, 20016, US
      38.9476208 -77.0799279
    • West End LibraryBorrow it
      2522 Virginia Ave. NW, Washington, DC, 20037, US
      38.8992872 -77.05423379999999
    • Woodridge LibraryBorrow it
      1790 Douglas St. NE, Washington, DC, 20018, US
      38.9234096 -76.9791283
    • Shaw (Watha T. Daniel) LibraryBorrow it
      1630 7th St. NW, Washington, DC, 20001, US
      38.9123733 -77.022493
Processing Feedback ...