Coverart for item
The Resource The dressmaker's dowry, Meredith Jaeger

The dressmaker's dowry, Meredith Jaeger

Label
The dressmaker's dowry
Title
The dressmaker's dowry
Statement of responsibility
Meredith Jaeger
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
For readers of Lucinda Riley, Sarah Jio, or Susan Meissner, this gripping historical debut novel tells the story of two women: one, an immigrant seamstress who disappears from San Francisco's gritty streets in 1876, and the other, a young woman in present day who must delve into the secrets of her husband's wealthy family only to discover that she and the missing dressmaker might be connected in unexpected ways. An exquisite ring, passed down through generations, connects two women who learn that love is a choice, and forgiveness is the key to freedom ... San Francisco: 1876 Immigrant dressmakers Hannelore Schaeffer and Margaret O'Brien struggle to provide food for their siblings, while mending delicate clothing for the city's most affluent ladies. When wealthy Lucas Havensworth enters the shop, Hanna's future is altered forever. With Margaret's encouragement and the power of a borrowed green dress, Hanna dares to see herself as worthy of him. Then Margaret disappears, and Hanna turns to Lucas. Braving the gritty streets of the Barbary Coast and daring to enter the mansions of Nob Hill, Hanna stumbles upon Margaret's fate, forcing her to make a devastating decision ... one that will echo through the generations. San Francisco: Present Day In her elegant Marina apartment overlooking the Golden Gate Bridge, Sarah Havensworth struggles to complete the novel she quit her job for. Afraid to tell her husband of her writer's block, Sarah is also hiding a darker secret-one that has haunted her for 14 years. Then a news headline from 1876 sparks inspiration: Missing Dressmakers Believed to be Murdered. Compelled to discover what happened to Hannelore and Margaret, Sarah returns to her roots as a journalist. Will her beautiful heirloom engagement ring uncover a connection to Hanna Schaeffer?
Cataloging source
FMG
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Jaeger, Meredith
Dewey number
813/.6
Illustrations
  • illustrations
  • maps
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Dressmakers
  • Immigrants
  • Missing persons
  • Rings
  • Secrecy
  • San Francisco (Calif.)
  • Women
  • Dressmakers
  • Immigrants
  • Missing persons
  • Rings
  • Secrecy
  • California
  • Dressmakers
  • Immigrants
  • Missing persons
  • Rings
  • Secrecy
  • San Francisco (Calif.)
Label
The dressmaker's dowry, Meredith Jaeger
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
Includes reading group discussion questions
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn971118877
Dimensions
21 cm
Extent
x, 347, 24 pages
Isbn
9780062469830
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations, map
Label
The dressmaker's dowry, Meredith Jaeger
Publication
Copyright
Note
Includes reading group discussion questions
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn971118877
Dimensions
21 cm
Extent
x, 347, 24 pages
Isbn
9780062469830
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations, map

Library Locations

    • West End LibraryBorrow it
      2522 Virginia Ave. NW, Washington, DC, 20037, US
      38.8992872 -77.05423379999999
Processing Feedback ...