Coverart for item
The Resource The girl they left behind : a novel, Roxanne Veletzos

The girl they left behind : a novel, Roxanne Veletzos

Label
The girl they left behind : a novel
Title
The girl they left behind
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Roxanne Veletzos
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
A sweeping family saga and love story that offers a vivid and unique portrayal of life in war-torn 1941 Bucharest and life behind the Iron Curtain during the Soviet Union occupation--perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and Sarah's Key . On a freezing night in January 1941, a little Jewish girl is found on the steps of an apartment building in Bucharest. With Romania recently allied with the Nazis, the Jewish population is in grave danger, undergoing increasingly violent persecution. The girl is placed in an orphanage and eventually adopted by a wealthy childless couple who name her Natalia. As she assimilates into her new life, she all but forgets the parents who were forced to leave her behind. They are even further from her mind when Romania falls under Soviet occupation. Yet, as Natalia comes of age in a bleak and hopeless world, traces of her identity pierce the surface of her everyday life, leading gradually to a discovery that will change her destiny. She has a secret crush on Victor, an intense young man who as an impoverished student befriended her family long ago. Years later, when Natalia is in her early twenties and working at a warehouse packing fruit, she and Victor, now an important official in the Communist regime, cross paths again. This time they are fatefully drawn into a passionate affair despite the obstacles swirling around them and Victor's dark secrets. When Natalia is suddenly offered a one-time chance at freedom, Victor is determined to help her escape, even if it means losing her. Natalia must make an agonizing decision: remain in Bucharest with her beloved adoptive parents and the man she has come to love, or seize the chance to finally live life on her own terms, and to confront the painful enigma of her past
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Veletzos, Roxanne
Dewey number
813/.6
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
Literary form
novels
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Families
  • World War, 1939-1945
  • Hungary
  • Family life
  • World War, 1939-1945
Label
The girl they left behind : a novel, Roxanne Veletzos
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1027732252
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Atria books hardcover edition.
Extent
353 pages
Isbn
9781501187681
Lccn
2018005009
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
  • BK0022186670
  • (OCoLC)1027732252
Label
The girl they left behind : a novel, Roxanne Veletzos
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1027732252
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Atria books hardcover edition.
Extent
353 pages
Isbn
9781501187681
Lccn
2018005009
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
  • BK0022186670
  • (OCoLC)1027732252

Library Locations

    • Georgetown LibraryBorrow it
      3260 R St. NW, Washington, DC, 20007, US
      38.9134043 -77.0660321
    • Mt. Pleasant LibraryBorrow it
      3160 16th St. NW, Washington, DC, 20010, US
      38.9304774 -77.0372288
Processing Feedback ...