Coverart for item
The Resource The glass woman : a novel, Caroline Lea

The glass woman : a novel, Caroline Lea

Label
The glass woman : a novel
Title
The glass woman
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Caroline Lea
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Shortlisted for the Historical Writers Association Debut Crown Award In the tradition of Jane Eyre and Rebecca--The Glass Woman by Caroline Lea in which a young woman follows her new husband to his remote home on the Icelandic coast in the 1680s, where she faces dark secrets surrounding the death of his first wife amidst a foreboding landscape and the superstitions of the local villagers. Rósa has always dreamed of living a simple life alongside her Mamma in their remote village in Iceland, where she prays to the Christian God aloud during the day, whispering enchantments to the old gods alone at night. But after her father dies abruptly and her Mamma becomes ill, Rósa marries herself off to a visiting trader in exchange for a dowry, despite rumors of mysterious circumstances surrounding his first wife's death. Rósa follows her new husband, Jón, across the treacherous countryside to his remote home near the sea. There Jón works the field during the day, expecting Rósa to maintain their house in his absence with the deference of a good Christian wife. What Rósa did not anticipate was the fierce loneliness she would feel in her new home, where Jón forbids her from interacting with the locals in the nearby settlement and barely speaks to her himself. Seclusion from the outside world isn't the only troubling aspect of her new life--Rósa is also forbidden from going into Jón's attic. When Rósa begins to hear strange noises from upstairs, she turns to the local woman in an attempt to find solace. But the villager's words are even more troubling--confirming many of the rumors about Jón's first wife, Anna, including that he buried her body alone in the middle of the night. Rósa's isolation begins to play tricks on her mind: What--or who--is in the attic? What happened to Anna? Was she mad, a witch, or just a victim of Jón's ruthless nature? And when Jón is brutally maimed in an accident a series of events are set in motion that will force Rósa to choose between obedience and defiance--with her own survival and the safety of the ones she loves hanging in the balance"--
Member of
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
PX0
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Lea, Caroline
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3612.E2127
LC item number
G43 2020
Literary form
fiction
Series statement
Thorndike Press large print historical fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Arranged marriage
  • Newlyweds
  • Haunted houses
  • Iceland
  • Large type books
  • Arranged marriage
  • Haunted houses
  • Newlyweds
  • Iceland
Label
The glass woman : a novel, Caroline Lea
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1142635351
Dimensions
23 cm.
Edition
Large print edition.
Extent
517 pages (large print)
Form of item
large print
Isbn
9781432873905
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Label
The glass woman : a novel, Caroline Lea
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1142635351
Dimensions
23 cm.
Edition
Large print edition.
Extent
517 pages (large print)
Form of item
large print
Isbn
9781432873905
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n

Library Locations

    • Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial LibraryBorrow it
      901 G Street NW, Washington, DC, 20001, US
      38.8986949 -77.0247823
Processing Feedback ...