The Resource Unraveling Oliver, Liz Nugent

Unraveling Oliver, Liz Nugent

Label
Unraveling Oliver
Title
Unraveling Oliver
Statement of responsibility
Liz Nugent
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "In this "compelling, clever, and dark" (Heat magazine) thriller, a man's shocking act of savagery stuns a local community-and the revelations that follow will keep you gripped until the very last page. This work of psychological suspense, a #1 bestseller in Ireland, is perfect for fans of Patricia Highsmith and Ruth Ware. "I expected more of a reaction the first time I hit her." So begins Liz Nugent's astonishing debut novel--a chilling, elegantly crafted, and psychologically astute exploration of the nature of evil. Oliver Ryan, handsome, charismatic, and successful, has long been married to his devoted wife, Alice. Together they write and illustrate award-winning children's books; their life together one of enviable privilege and ease--until, one evening after a delightful dinner, Oliver delivers a blow to Alice that renders her unconscious, and subsequently beats her into a coma. In the aftermath of such an unthinkable event, as Alice hovers between life and death, the couple's friends, neighbors, and acquaintances try to understand what could have driven Oliver to commit such a horrific act. As his story unfolds, layers are peeled away to reveal a life of shame, envy, deception, and masterful manipulation. With its alternating points of view and deft prose, Unraveling Oliver is "a page-turning, one-sitting read from a brand new master of psychological suspense" (Sunday Independent) that details how an ordinary man can transform into a sociopath"--
  • "A brilliant, compulsively readable debut novel -- and a #1 bestseller in the author's native Ireland -- about the truth behind a shocking act of savagery, and the profound lies and deceptions that come to light in its wake"--
  • Oliver Ryan, handsome, charismatic, and successful, has long been married to his devoted wife, Alice. Together they write and illustrate award-winning children's books; their life one of privilege and ease-- until, one evening after a delightful dinner, Oliver delivers a blow to Alice that renders her unconscious, and subsequently beats her into a coma. As Alice hovers between life and death, the couple's friends, neighbors, and acquaintances try to understand what could have driven Oliver to commit such a horrific act
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Nugent, Liz
Dewey number
823/.92
Index
no index present
Literary form
novels
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Marital violence
  • Wife abuse
  • Marital violence
  • Wife abuse
Label
Unraveling Oliver, Liz Nugent
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn962006346
Dimensions
25 cm
Extent
260 pages
Isbn
9781501167751
Lccn
2017000051
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Label
Unraveling Oliver, Liz Nugent
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn962006346
Dimensions
25 cm
Extent
260 pages
Isbn
9781501167751
Lccn
2017000051
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n

Library Locations

    • Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial LibraryBorrow it
      901 G Street NW, Washington, DC, 20001, US
      38.8986949 -77.0247823
    • Palisades LibraryBorrow it
      4901 V St. NW, Washington, DC, 20007, US
      38.9183989 -77.0971728
    • Shepherd Park (Juanita E. Thornton) LibraryBorrow it
      7420 Georgia Ave. NW, Washington, DC, 20012, US
      38.9803141 -77.026951
Processing Feedback ...