The Resource West of Eden : an American place, Jean Stein

West of Eden : an American place, Jean Stein

Label
West of Eden : an American place
Title
West of Eden
Title remainder
an American place
Statement of responsibility
Jean Stein
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "An epic, mesmerizing oral history of Hollywood and Los Angeles by the author of the contemporary classic Edie; Jean Stein influenced the art of oral history in her groundbreaking book Edie : American Girl, an indelible portrait of Andy Warhol 'superstar' Edie Sedgwick. Now, in West of Eden, Stein turns her lens toward the city Sedgwick came from--Los Angeles--and a mythic cast of fortune hunters and aspiring moguls whose quests for fame and power destroyed many along the way. West of Eden, a work of history both grand in scale and intimate in detail, tells the stories of five larger-than-life individuals and their families, each one representing different aspects of Los Angeles and the American dream. There is Edward Doheny, the Wisconsin-born oil tycoon whose corruption ruins the reputation of a United States president and leads to his own son's violent death. Jack Warner, the son of Jewish Polish immigrants, joins with his brothers to found one of the world's most iconic film studios. Jane Garland, the troubled daughter of an aspiring actress, can never escape her mother's schemes. Jennifer Jones, a young actress from Oklahoma, wins an Academy Award at twenty-five but struggles with despair despite her fame and glamour. Finally, Stein chronicles the ascent of her own father, Jules Stein, an eye doctor born in Indiana who transforms Hollywood with the creation of an unrivaled agency and studio. These chapters paint a panoramic picture of outsiders pinning their hopes on Los Angeles--then watching as the shadow of those dreams envelopes their loved ones, especially their children, and the city itself. Decades in the making, West of Eden depicts a land of absurdity and treachery in the tradition of Raymond Chandler, Nathanael West, and Joan Didion. As she did in Edie, Stein weaves the personal recollections of hundreds of people into an astonishing tapestry of voices telling the saga of a place like no other. Advance praise for West of Eden: 'In times past, in an effort to capture the edge and feel of Hollywood during its golden age of glamour and noir, Nathanael West, Raymond Chandler, Carey McWilliams, and Joan Didion stretched language and genre to their limits. Jean Stein and West of Eden belong in this company'--Kevin Starr, former California State Librarian and author of California : A History"--
  • Stein examines Los Angeles-- and a mythic cast of fortune hunters and aspiring moguls whose quests for fame and power destroyed many along the way. She tells the stories of five larger-than-life individuals and their families, each one representing different aspects of Los Angeles and the American dream. Each chapter paints a panoramic picture of outsiders pinning their hopes on Los Angeles-- then watching as the shadow of those dreams envelopes their loved ones, especially their children, and the city itself
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Biography type
collective biography
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Stein, Jean
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Oral history
  • Manners and customs
  • Oral history
  • Social conditions
  • Los Angeles (Calif.)
  • Hollywood (Los Angeles, Calif.)
  • Beverly Hills (Calif.)
  • Los Angeles (Calif.)
  • Hollywood (Los Angeles, Calif.)
  • Beverly Hills (Calif.)
  • Los Angeles (Calif.)
  • Los Angeles (Calif.)
  • California
  • California
  • California
Label
West of Eden : an American place, Jean Stein
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
  • Maps -- I. The Dohenys -- 905 Loma Vista Drive, Beverly Hills -- II. The Warners -- 1801 Angelo Drive, Beverly Hills -- III. The Garlands -- 22368 Pacific Coast Highway, Malibu -- IV. Jennifer Jones -- 1400 Tower Grove Road, Beverly Hills -- 22400 Pacific Coast Highway, Malibu -- 22368 Pacific Coast Highway, Malibu -- V. The Steins -- 1330 Angelo Drive, Beverly Hills -- Biographical Notes
  • Prologue: Welcome to Los Angeles -- The Dohenys, 905 Loma Vista Drive, Beverly Hills -- The Warners, 1801 Angelo Drive, Beverly Hills -- Jane Garland, 2368 Pacific Coast Highway, Malibu -- Jennifer Jones, 1400 Tower Grove Road, Beverly Hills ; 22400 Pacific Coast Highway, Malibu ; 22368 Pacific Coast Highway, Malibu -- The Steins, 330 Angelo Drive, Beverly Hills
Control code
ocn908517292
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
xiii, 334 pages
Isbn
9780812998405
Lccn
2015022411
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)908517292
Label
West of Eden : an American place, Jean Stein
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
  • Maps -- I. The Dohenys -- 905 Loma Vista Drive, Beverly Hills -- II. The Warners -- 1801 Angelo Drive, Beverly Hills -- III. The Garlands -- 22368 Pacific Coast Highway, Malibu -- IV. Jennifer Jones -- 1400 Tower Grove Road, Beverly Hills -- 22400 Pacific Coast Highway, Malibu -- 22368 Pacific Coast Highway, Malibu -- V. The Steins -- 1330 Angelo Drive, Beverly Hills -- Biographical Notes
  • Prologue: Welcome to Los Angeles -- The Dohenys, 905 Loma Vista Drive, Beverly Hills -- The Warners, 1801 Angelo Drive, Beverly Hills -- Jane Garland, 2368 Pacific Coast Highway, Malibu -- Jennifer Jones, 1400 Tower Grove Road, Beverly Hills ; 22400 Pacific Coast Highway, Malibu ; 22368 Pacific Coast Highway, Malibu -- The Steins, 330 Angelo Drive, Beverly Hills
Control code
ocn908517292
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
xiii, 334 pages
Isbn
9780812998405
Lccn
2015022411
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)908517292

Library Locations

    • Anacostia LibraryBorrow it
      1800 Good Hope Road SE, Washington, DC, 20020, US
      38.8659805 -76.9785383
    • Cleveland Park LibraryBorrow it
      3310 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington, DC, 20008, US
      38.9338203 -77.05791820000002
    • Deanwood LibraryBorrow it
      1350 49th St. NE, Washington, DC, 20019, US
      38.9082997 -76.9324515
    • Shepherd Park (Juanita E. Thornton) LibraryBorrow it
      7420 Georgia Ave. NW, Washington, DC, 20012, US
      38.9803141 -77.026951
    • West End LibraryBorrow it
      2522 Virginia Ave. NW, Washington, DC, 20037, US
      38.8992872 -77.05423379999999
    • Woodridge LibraryBorrow it
      1790 Douglas St. NE, Washington, DC, 20018, US
      38.9234096 -76.9791283
Processing Feedback ...