DC Public Library System

Topics of Conversation

resource.description
A compact tour de force about sex, violence, and self-loathing from a ferociously talented new voice in fiction, perfect for fans of Sally Rooney, Rachel Cusk, Lydia Davis, and Jenny Offill. “Shrewd and sensual, Popkey's debut carries the scintillating charge of a long-overdue girls' night." —O, The Oprah Magazine   A Best Book of the Year by TIME, Esquire, Real Simple, Marie Claire, Glamor, Bustle, and more  Composed almost exclusively of conversations between women—the stories they tell each other, and the stories they tell themselves—Topics of Conversation careens through twenty years in the life of an unnamed narrator hungry for experience and bent on upending her life. In exchanges about shame and love, infidelity and self-sabotage, Popkey touches upon desire, disgust, motherhood, loneliness, art, pain, feminism, anger, envy, and guilt. Edgy, wry, and written in language that sizzles with intelligence and eroticism, this novel introduces an audacious and immensely gifted new novelist.
Identifier
OVERDRIVE:8fb7d1b5-9872-47df-b67e-ef2407b19a70
Language
eng
resource.title
Topics of ConversationA novel

Incoming Resources

  • Has instance
    1

Outgoing Resources